2017 MWVCOG Awards – Call for Nominations

Logo of the MWVCOG
Donate Now

The Mid-Willamette Valley Council of Governments is accepting nominations for three annual awards to recognize elected officials, staff, and innovative projects supporting and enhancing the principles of intergovernmental cooperation.

Nomination Process

Anyone (COG member or not) may nominate any person or group (COG member or not) to be considered for any of the three awards. One nomination per form, please. Nominations may be submitted by returning a completed nomination form, which must be received or postmarked by  Friday, December 29, 2017, in one of the following ways:

  • Mail to: Award Nominations, MWVCOG, 100 High St SE, Suite 200, Salem OR  97301;
  • Email to: dvandyke@mwvcog.org; or
  • Fax to: 503-588-6094.

Selection Process

The MWVCOG Executive Committee, consisting of four elected officials representing the MWVCOG membership, will select the recipients for each award from the nominations received.

Awards Presentation

 Award recipients will remain confidential and will be announced at the Mid-Willamette Valley Council of Governments’ Annual Dinner on Wednesday, January 31, 2018.

The Awards

  • The Gwen VanDenBosch Award – recognizes an elected official in Marion, Polk, or Yamhill County who demonstrates outstanding leadership in regional, intergovernmental affairs.
  • The Wes Kvarsten Award – recognizes a staff person or volunteer working for or on behalf of one or more member governments within the region who has exhibited sustained commitment in support of regional, intergovernmental cooperation.
  • The Regional Cooperative Project Award – recognizes a partnership of local governments within the region for a project or initiative that enhances intergovernmen­tal cooperation.

Download the Nomination Form here.

A list of past award recipients can be found here.