background image

MWVCOG Regional Awards – Call for Nominations – Deadline Extended to 1/8

A photo of the perpetual plaques for the MWVCOG annual awards on display.
Donate Now

MWVCOG is pleased to solicit nominations for three annual awards to recognize elected officials, staff, and innovative projects supporting and enhancing the principles of intergovernmental cooperation.

Nomination Process

Anyone may nominate a person or group to be considered for any of the three awards. Nominations may be submitted by completing the nomination entry form (fillable pdf).

Nominations must be received or postmarked by December 31, 2020 January 8, 2021, and may be mailed, emailed or faxed to our offices.

A list of previous award recipients is available here.

Selection Process

The MWVCOG Executive Committee, consisting of four elected officials representing Marion, Polk, and Yamhill counties and the Confederated Tribes of Grand Ronde, will select the recipients for each award from the submitted nominations.

Awards Presentation

Award recipients will remain confidential and will be announced at the Mid-Willamette Valley Council of Governments’ Annual Dinner on Wednesday, February 17, 2021.


Gwen VanDenBosch Regional Leadership Award

Recognizes an elected official in Marion, Polk, or Yamhill County who demonstrates outstanding leadership in regional, intergovernmental affairs.

Wes Kvarsten Professional Service Award

Recognizes a staff person or volunteer working for or on behalf of one or more member governments within the region who has exhibited sustained commitment in support of regional, intergovernmental cooperation.

Regional Cooperative Project Award

Recognizes a partnership of local governments within the region for a project or initiative that enhances intergovernmental cooperation.


Questions? Contact Denise VanDyke at the COG offices ( or 503-540-1602).